CofC Logo

C. Richard Crosby Distinguished Teaching Chair in Computer Science

The C. Richard Crosby Distinguished Teaching Chair was established in 2001 to regard excellence in teaching among tenured and tenure-track faculty in Computer Science at the College of Charleston. The holder must devote a substantial amount of time to teaching through classroom instruction. Research that does not involve students and other academic successes are secondary to teaching prowess and a strong devotion to students. The chair is selected on a biennial basis. The selection is determined by the chair through an objective process and validated by the faculty.

Dr. Crosby was the first professor of computer science at the College, arriving in 1972, and served as the first chair of the department. He received his B.S, M.S., and Ph.D. from Louisiana State University.

Chair holders and year of appointment are as follows:

2015 Paul Anderson & Jim Bowring (current)
2001 George Pothering